Skip to Content

Northwood High School wins ‘Only In Irvine’ high school video competition

Student team earns $5,000 first-place prize for video that best captured the unique lifestyle found ‘Only In Irvine’

IRVINE, Calif. (May 17, 2016) — Irvine Company announced today that Northwood High School won the $5,000 first prize in the inaugural “Only In Irvine” high school video competition. Five Irvine high schools competed by producing three-minute videos that captured the unique lifestyle found “Only In Irvine”.

“Congratulations to the Northwood Timberwolves for winning the 2016 ‘Only In Irvine’ high school video competition,” said Robin Leftwich, vice president of community affairs for Irvine Company. “The judges complimented the compelling way the Northwood team told the ‘Only in Irvine’ story, noting that their video evoked emotion and highlighted many great city landmarks. They did a wonderful job of setting the bar high in our inaugural high school video competition.”

In addition to Northwood receiving the $5,000 first-prize, the other four high schools – Beckman, Irvine, University and Woodbridge – each received a $2,500 prize for participating.

“All five teams were winners in my book,” Leftwich added. “The accolades received by the teams from audience members, judges, my Irvine Company colleagues and others were well deserved and reflect the hard work they devoted to this competition.”

Judges from the film and television industry critiqued the five videos at the “Only In Irvine high school video screening party at Giant Wheel Court at Irvine Spectrum Center last month.

Although the “Only In Irvine” high school video competition has ended, members of the community are invited to submit a brief video or photo at that captures the essence of living in Irvine from their unique perspective. Accepted submissions will be posted and automatically entered into a monthly “Only In Irvine” video and photo contest. Each monthly winner will receive a GoPro HERO4 BLACK 4 K action camera. The monthly contest continues until Dec. 1, 2016.